Volunteer Service Recognition

Nearly  2,800 people volunteered at Second Harvest in the past year, either individually or as part of a group. We recently held our 2018 Volunteer Appreciation dinner to celebrate these volunteers who have given their time to help with our mission.

We recognize those volunteers who donated a significant number of hours during the course of the year. As part of these two distinguished groups, these volunteers show that they reflect the essence of our original founders. They are:

Eric & Evan Nord Circle honors individuals who have completed 100 or more hours of volunteer work for Second Harvest in the course of the year. Evan & Eric Nord exemplified giving in action. Their drive and spirit has ignited the creation and proliferation of many crucial organizations in Lorain County including the County Cupboard, which is now Second Harvest. The brothers were diligent, creative workers who believed that benevolent and unselfish acts by an individual towards others were a mainstay of civil society and essential to the survival of democracy. This year, these Second Harvest volunteers have demonstrated the highest form of generosity with their time on behalf of a greater good, exemplifying the beliefs of Eric and Evan Nord.

Eric & Evan Nord Circle: 2018 Members

Bob Burkhardt
Ruth Colella
Betty Humpries
Paul Hiltabidel
Richard Jacquemotte
Thomas Jewell
Ruth Langham
Diane Lehman
Dwayne Marshall
Shirley Nain
Greg Rosso
Daniel Shotter
Jean Shotter
Nancy Sugarman
Ralph Zilch

Jeptha Carrell Society honors those individuals who have completed between 40 and 99 hours of volunteer work for Second Harvest in the course of the year. Jeptha Carrell’s work in the non-profit sector attracted Eric and Evan Nord to name him as the first full-time director of the Nordson Foundation (precursor to the Nordson Corporation Foundation and the Nord Family Foundation). He had many accomplishments but was especially proud of the creation of the County Cupboard, which is now Second Harvest. He had a special talent as an unassuming administrator-leader and he remained active as a volunteer and supporter of many nonprofits throughout his retirement. This year, these Second Harvest volunteers have demonstrated great dedication to our mission and have diligently offered their time unselfishly.

Jeptha Carrell Society: 2018 Members

George Andrews
Doug Bloomfield
Joanne Bloomfield
Emily Bosley
Garrett Bourbina
Donna Breckenridge
Bridget Brushaber
Barry Buck
Gabe Bullock
Gerald Cherney
Elaine Childs
Ellie Ciriaco
Eileen Conley
Casey Davis
Barbara Edgerly
Diane Gerguson
George Ferlic
Diane Filina
Gary Filina
Gay Fisher
Caleb Gardner
Deborah Gilder
Amy Goins
Dick Gorman
Janice Hatley
Jan Hawkins
Alan Heggie
Carol Hiltabidel
Brandon Hull
Bev Husar
George Kelly
Pam Kelly
Gayle Kiefer
Edgar LaBoy
Andrea Lamb
Imogene Lee
Brian Mather
Alex Mawson
Carol Miller
Barbara Nimon
Ken Nimon
Don Parker
Andrew Piascik
Dave Rice
Gaile Ristagno
Bob Schneider
Billy Sherrard
Carol Shinsky
Jeanie Simon
Dale Smith
Alyssa Thompson
Glenn Waggoner